Monday, 25 March, 2019

DPL title race goes down the wire

Published on: 11:57 am - Tuesday | April 3, 2018


The title race of the ongoing Dhaka Premier League goes to the final round as Abahani Limited, Legends of Rupganj and Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club all won their respective matches in the penultimate round on Monday.
Front-runners Abahani clinched a huge 127-run victory against Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity at Mirpur to stay two points clear of Jamal and Rupganj, who defeated Prime Doleshwar and Gazi Group respectively.
Rupganj thrashed holders Gazi by eight-wicket at Fatullah while Jamal managed a narrow 10-run win over Doleshwar at the BKSP.
Abahani will win the title if they can beat Rupganj in the final match but a defeat will open the door for others.
Abahani v Khelaghar
Put into bat first, Abahani made a modest start with top-order batsman Nazmul Hasan making 54 off 56 deliveries. But a mid-innings collapse saw them losing eight wickets for 56 runs to be reduced to 156-8 at one stage.
National stalwarts Mehedi Hasan and Taskin Ahmed fought hard to put their 49-run for the ninth wicket guiding Abahani to a respectable 241in 46.3 overs.
Mehedi scored 50 off 44 balls, including five fours and three sixes while Taskin made an invaluable contribution of 26 runs.
Pacer Abdul Halim picked up four wickets by giving away only 10 runs for Khelaghar but batting let his side down as they were all out for 114 in 27.3 overs with Mahidul Islam making highest 27 off 32 balls.
Mashrafee bin Murtaza picked up 3-32 while Taskin and Nasir Hossain claimed two-wicket apiece for Abahani.
Rupganj v Gazi Group
Opting to bowl first, Rupganj bowlers, led by pacer Mohammad Shahid rocked Gazi’s batting line-up folding the side for 152 in 45.4 overs.
Skipper Jahirul Islam scored 31 off 49 balls and wicketkeeper-batsman Jakir Ali made 30 off 43 balls for Gazi.
Shahid claimed four wickets by giving away 26 runs while Asif Hasan and Indian recruit Parvez Rasool picked up two-wicket each.
In reply, unbeaten 57 off 61 deliveries by Avishek Mitra including five fours and two sixes and 45 off 34 balls by Mohammad Naim helped Rupganj reach 153-2 in 22.5 overs.
Sheikh Jamal v Doleshwar
Opting to bat first, Sheikh Jamal batsmen failed to take the advantage of winning the toss as they were all out for 183-10 in 38 overs.
Tanbir remained unbeaten on 43 off 70 balls while experienced campaigner Ziaur Rahman scored 39 off 29 balls for the Dhanmondi outfit.
Spinner Zakaria Masud picked up 3-10 while Sharifullah and Farhad Reza claimed two-wicket each.
Doleshwar, who lost to Abahani in controversial manner in the previous match, were struggling from the beginning of their innings and fell into 106-9.
But a 67-run partnership in the final-wicket between tail-ender Arafat Sunny (35) and Salauddin Sakil (31) almost took Doleshwar home.
Youngster Robiul Haque caught and bowled Sakil to end their partnership and bowl out the side for 173 in 48.2 overs.
Tanbir picked up four wickets by giving away 31-run while Nazmul Islam claimed 2-37.

Brief Scores
Abahani 241 in 46.3 overs (Shanto 54, Mehedi 50, Taskin 26; Halim 4-10, Sadikur 2-46, Anjum 2-52) v Khelaghar SKS 114 in 27.3 overs (Ankon 27, Anjum 24, Masum 23 not out; Mashrafee 3-32, Sandip 2-5, Taskin 2-25)
Result: Abahani Limited won by 127 runs
M-o-M: Mehedi Hasan Miraz (Abahani Limited)
Gazi Group 152 in 45.4 overs (Jahirul 31, Jaker 30, Nayeem 23; Shahid 4-26, Asif 2-17, Rasool 2-27) v Rupganj 153-2 in 22.5 overs (Avishek 57 not out, Naim 45, Mushfiq 30 not out; Tipu 1-22)
Result: Legends of Rupganj won by 8 wickets
M-o-M: Mohammad Shahid (Legends of Rupganj)
Sheikh Jamal 183 in 38 overs (Tanbir 43 not out, Ziaur 39; Unmukt 27, Pinak 24; Zakaria 3-10, Farhad 2-24, Sharifullah 2-52) v Prime Doleshwar 173 in 48.2 overs (Fazle 35, Sunny 35 not out, Sakil 31, Marshall 29; Tanbir 4-31, Nazmul 2-37)
Result: Sheikh Jamal DC won by 10 runs
M-o-M: Tanbir Hayder (Sheikh Jamal DC)

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :