Monday, 17 February, 2020

Indian Lok Sabha Speaker greets Shirin Sharmin on poll victory

Published on: 10:45 pm - Thursday | January 3, 2019


The Speaker of Lok Sabha, the lower house of the Parliament of India, Sumitra Mahajan and members of parliament (MPs) of other countries have congratulated Bangladesh Jatiya Sangsad (JS) Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury on her victory in December 30 national polls.

“Indian Lok Sabha Speaker (Sumitra Mahajan) greeted Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury over phone. Besides, members of parliament of different courtiers also congratulated the speaker (Shirin),” said an official release here today.

Dr Sharmin has been elected MP with 234,426 votes from Rangpur-6 constituency as a candidate of Awami League-led grand alliance in the 11th parliamentary elections.

The JS speaker was elected MP unopposed from the same constituency in the 10th parliamentary elections in 2014 and she was also an MP in the 9th parliaments in one of the reserved seats for women.