Monday, 03 August, 2020

PM opens BPL with firework display

Published on: 9:49 pm - Sunday | December 8, 2019


Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Sunday inaugurated the special edition of Bangladesh Premier League titled ‘Bangabandhu BPL’–reports UNB.

The Prime Minister joined the grand opening ceremony at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium here in the evening.

There was a firework display at the colourful opening ceremony immediately after the Prime Minister announced the seventh edition of BPL open at 6:55pm.

Sheikh Hasina wished the Bangabandhu BPL a success.

The main attraction of the grand opening ceremony of the mega cricket event is Bollywood superstars Salman Khan and Katrina Kaif.

The two Indian superstars are going to perform after Indian artists Sonu Nigam and Kailash Kher take the stage onwards.

Earlier, the opening ceremony began with the musical performance of local artistes at 5pm where Bangladeshi rockstar James performed.

The stage of the opening ceremony was installed at the Stadium. Eight giant screens were also set up at the venue so that the spectators can experience the programme in a better way.

However, the main event of the seventh edition of BPL will kick off on December 11 at the same venue with Chattogram Challengers taking on Sylhet Thunder in the opening match.

A total of seven teams are participating in this special edition of BPL which is rebranded as Bangabandhu BPL to pay tributes to Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman marking his birth centenary.

The seven teams are Dhaka Platoon, Chattogram Challengers, Comilla Warriors, Khulna Tigers, Rangpur Rangers, Rajshahi Royals and Sylhet Thunder.

Along with top Bangladeshi cricketers, many international stars will also feature in this edition of BPL.

A total of 46 matches will be played. In the league phase, 42 matches will be played while in the playoffs, a total of four matches will take place. The BPL final will be held on January 17, 2020.