Wednesday, 08 July, 2020

Elections to DNCC, DSCC on Jan 30

Published on: 8:38 pm - Sunday | December 22, 2019


The elections to two city corporations — Dhaka South and North –- will be held on January 30 next, according to a schedule announced by Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda on Sunday–reports UNB.

As per the schedule, the deadline for the submission of nomination is December 31, while the date for scrutinising nomination papers is January 2 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is January 9.

The entire elections will be held using electronic voting machines (EVMs) instead of traditional ballot papers, the CEC said adding that two army personnel will be there in every polling station to safeguard the voting machines.

The voting will be held from 8am to 4pm without any break, he said while declaring the election schedule at a press conference at the Media Centre of the Nirbachan Bhaban in the city.

EC joint secretary Abul Kashem has been appointed returning officer of the Dhaka North City Corporation (DNCC) election, while its another joint secretary Abdul Baten as the returning officer of the Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC) election.

The last elections to both the city corporations of the capital were held on April 28, 2015. Sayeed Khokon and Annisul Huq were elected the DSCC mayor and the DNCC mayor respectively.

Following the death of DNCC mayor Annisul Huq, the by-election to the DNCC mayoral post was held in February 2019, when Atiqul Islam was elected the DNCC mayor.

In the upcoming January-30 elections, some 58 lakh people will have the opportunity to exercise their franchise under the two cities.

The number of voters in the DNCC is 30,35,621 and they will be able to cast their votes under 1,349 possible polling stations in 54 wards. A total of 73 public representatives including a mayor, 54 general councillors and 18 women councillors from reserved seats will be elected in the polls.

In the DSCC, the number of voters is 27,67,488 while it will have 1,124 possible polling stations in 75 wards. A total of 101 public representatives, including a mayor, 75 general councillors and 25 women councillors from reserved seats will be elected in the polls.

Banani Community Centre will used as the office of the returning officer in the DNCC election, while Motijheel Community Centre as the office of the returning officer in the DSCC election.

According to the Local Government (City Corporation) Act 2009, the election to any city corporation should be held within the last 180 days of its five-year tenure that starts with the first meeting of the corporation.

So, the Election Commission has the legal obligation to complete DNCC election by May 13 next and DSCC election by May 16 next.