Saturday, 23 June, 2018

Renshaw ruled out of third test against Pakistan

Published on: 10:26 am - Friday | January 6, 2017

Australia’s Matt Renshaw has been ruled out for the remainder of the third test against Pakistan due to concussion after being hit on the helmet twice in three days at the Sydney Cricket Ground, reports UNB.

Renshaw, fielding at short leg, was struck on the top of his helmet from a powerful sweep shot by Sarfraz Ahmed on Thursday. The 20-year-old was examined by team doctor Peter Brukner and initially he continued, but left the field an over later due to a headache.

“He rested in the dressing room and then, when we returned to the hotel, we performed concussion tests and his cognitive, balance, co-ordination and reaction times were all within normal limits,” Brukner said in a statement on Friday.

“However, on Friday morning he was still symptomatic and so we have taken the decision to withdraw him from the match as he is suffering from concussion. We will continue to monitor him over the coming days and work with him to produce a gradual return to play.”

Renshaw was also struck while batting on Tuesday, as a Mohammad Amir short-pitched ball struck him on the helmet grille. Renshaw received treatment on the field before he carried on and scored 184 for his maiden test century.

There was better news for Australia with regard to wicketkeeper Matthew Wade, who missed almost all Thursday’s play as he dealt with nausea, vomiting and diarrhoea.

“We administered medication and after a night’s rest he is feeling much better and will take part in play on Friday,” Brukner said.

Play was delayed by rain on Friday. Weather forecasts indicate the rain should clear later in the afternoon.

Pakistan was 271-8 overnight, needing another 68 runs to avoid the follow on.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :