Saturday, 23 June, 2018

Awami League sits with President on EC formation talks

Published on: 6:56 pm - Wednesday | January 11, 2017

A 19-member delegation of ruling Awami League on Wednesday sat with the President Abdul Hamid to place their proposal and suggestions over the formation of new Election Commission (EC).

The meeting started at 4:05 pm at the Darbar Hall of Bangabhaban.

Prime Minister and Awami League President Sheikh Hasina is leading the delegation at the meeting, UNB reports.

The other delegation members are general secretary Obaidul Quader, Advisory council members Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed, Suranjit Sengupta, AMA Muhith, HT Imam, Yusuf Hossain Humayun, Mohammad Zamir; presidium members Mohammad Nasim, Matia Chowdhury, Sahara Khatun and Syed Ashraful Islam; joint general secretaries Dr Dipu Moni and  Jahangir Kabir Nanak, Legal Affairs secretary Abdul Matin Khasru, Publicity and Publication secretary Dr Hasan Mahmud, office secretary Dr Abdus Sobhan Golap and Law Minister Anisul Huq.

President Abdul Hamid initiated the formal talks with political parties over the formation of the new EC through BNP on December 18 last year and so far held meetings with 22 political parties.

Abdul Hamid took the dialogue initiative as the tenure of the current Kazi Rakibuddin Ahmad-led EC expires in February.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :