Wednesday, 20 October, 2021

BNP won’t take part in Bogura-1, Jashore-6 by-polls

Published on: 10:14 am - Monday | July 6, 2020


Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) will not take part in the by-elections of Bogura-1 and Jashore-6 constituencies of Jatiya Sangsad.

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir informed about the decision following a virtual meeting of the party’s standing committee on Sunday evening.

Fakhrul said the BNP standing committee thinks that the Election Commission’s announcement of holding by-elections in Bogura-1 and Jashore-6 constituencies on July 14 next “illogical and unacceptable” amid coronavirus pandemic and flood. ‘Because of it, the BNP will not participate in the by-elections to the two seats of Jatiya Sangsad,” he said.

Apart from Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, the standing committee meeting was also attended by Dr Khondker Mosharraf Hossain, Barrister Moudud Ahmed, Dr Abdul Moyeen Khan, Mirza Abbas, Gayeshwar Chandra Roy, Nazrul Islam Khan, Amir Khosru Mahmud Chowdhury, Selima Islam and Iqbal Hasan Mahmud Tuku.

The meeting was chaired by the party’s acting chairman Tareque Rahman, said Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir.

At an emergency meeting on July 4 last, the EC decided to hold by-elections in Bogura-1 and Jashore-6 constituencies of Jatiya Sangsad on July 14 next through ballot papers.